Town Council Update

Dec. 4 Council update: terms begin for newly elected Mayor and Councilmembers; new Mayor Pro Tem appointed

Three new members joined Town Council Tuesday. These new members were elected in November. Additionally, Council recognized outgoing Mayor Jennifer Green, Mayor Pro Tem Renee Valentine and Councilmember Brett Ford. Each outgoing member was given a proclamation of commendation to recognize their dedication and contributions to the community. 

Here's a look at what was discussed Tuesday:

  • Three new members join Town Council – following the November election, three new members joined Town Council last night. Voters elected Jason Gray as Mayor to represent the entire Town. Kevin Bracken now represents District 3, comprised of eastern portions of The Meadows, Red Hawk and Castle Highlands. Caryn Johnson is the new Councilmember who will represent District 5 in southeast Castle Rock.

    The transition took place Tuesday, when the three new members were sworn in. The 2018-2020 Town Council also discussed several procedural items for the coming year, including a meeting schedule and liaison assignments.

    Watch the swearing in

  • Town Council appoints Mayor Pro Tem – During Tuesday’s meeting, Town Council also determined a selection process for and appointed District 4 Councilman Jason Bower as the Mayor Pro Tem. The Mayor Pro is a ceremonial position that fills the Mayor’s role in his absence.

    Bower, who represents central Castle Rock and Downtown, was first elected in 2016. 

    Watch the appointment

Stay connected

Get a full agenda or watch any Council meeting. The next Town Council meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 18.

Questions? Email Council.

Connect with the Town on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube, Nextdoor, or LinkedIn

Social media
Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus